Tales of an immigrant: Tips to emigrate

Not an easy place to say Good Bye too. I hope to go back again. Cinaruco, Venezuela.
Not an easy place to say Good Bye too. I hope to go back again. Venezuela.

Most people assume that because our blog is in English that we are American or Canadians or something. Actually, we are very much Latin, but choose to write in English because a big group of the international community in Chile was being left out from the interesting things the city offers.

Anyway, I left home because I no longer had opportunities in my home country. I was a 27 year old professional, with a bachelor´s degree, three languages and no future. We decided on Chile, because of my newlywed husband had a Chilean passport thanks to his mother. Without giving it too much thought, we bought a ticket and decided that we had 4 months to close up shop and leave. Nothings was certain, only that we needed to grow and find a new life for ourselves in another place.

So, after I told my story. Someone asked me, How can a person PREPARE for leaving their country?? What can they do before??

It is not an easy question. My first immediate answer was Well You Can´t. I mean in my mind, no book, no training could prepare you for the emotionally drenage that comes from saying a long Good bye. I had to let go of my childhood, of my family, my friends, my home and everything that was close to me.

But, then I gave it more thought and now I want to share with you what I feel are some of the things that helped me be prepare to emigrate.

After reading the list, I think it is helpful for many people. Whether you are going abroad for a year, wanting a fresh start in a new country, being relocated with your family, or like me having to start over.

  • Invest in yourself. Study, study, study. One thing is for sure, the only valuable thing you are bringing into a new country is your mind and knowledge. Those are the only things that will help you succeed.
  • Invest in learning languages. They will be an asset; they will make you stand out.
  • Get some working experience. It does not matter if it was summer camp guide, first job or bartending, having past experience will give you something to say.
  • Learn to let go of the material things. A car, a house, they are just things. Don´t hold on.
  • Learn that home is an abstract concept, not a place.
  • Become tech savvy it will come in handy when wanting to keep in touch with family and friends.
  • Translate all your certificates, diplomas and important documents to English. You can always translate them again to any other language.
  • Get some recommendation via letter or linked in. They will come in handy when applying for jobs.
  • Be ready to disconnect from news channels, tv and media from your home country. You have a new focus now.
  • Learn how to cook your favorite dishes from home. It will help you stay connected with your roots.
  • Yes, your country is probably sooo beautiful (like mine) But, think about all the other places you have to discover. Some day, you might just return home.
playita
Choroni, Venezuela. No hotels, no roads, just sand and the sea.

 

So, this post has nothing to do with Santiago, but a lot about being ready to move forward. In the ends, is also the purpose of our blog, we hope you are a happy person where ever you are meant to end up.

Cheers! 😉

 Have something else to add? Share it with us in the comments!!

Leave a comment